Already off track for your New Year’s Resolution? Find out how to do better

Found this statistics – almost all Americans make a new year’s resolution. The bad news is that half of them break their new year’s resolution by January 2 and more than 90% of those resolutions are forgotten by April 1.

So if you are having hard time keeping your resolution you are in the majority group. If you want it otherwise here is some food for thought.

Take a look at the bigger purpose you had for your New Year’s resolution or goal. Purpose is the soul of goals and goals are the means by which you express your purpose in the world. If your goal is to go to the gym 3- times a week, find the bigger purpose that lead you to this particular goal. Here is how you can do it:

Find some quite time and think through these questions. Write down the answers in a good place for you to revisit from time to time.

  1.  What is that I want to achieve by getting to this goal? (Setting the Intention)
  2.  When I achieve this (Intention) what will be different for me?
  3. How will it be if I don’t achieve the desired Intention?
  4. What are some possible ways to achieve this Intention? (Hint:There is always more than one solution!)
  5. Which ones are closer to my natural ways? Pick one or two.
  6. What would be a baby step to get started? Example: I will take a 15 min walk during lunch time tomorrow.
  7. What do I need to sacrifice to implement the baby step? Example: (Have courage to) Say “no” to any work during the lunch time.
  8. Evaluate: Did I take the baby step? What worked? What blocked? How I felt afterwards? What do I know about me now? What is my next baby step?

When setting the Intention (#1 above) keep in mind that motivation depends on 3 things: Autonomy, Mastery and Bigger sense of Purpose. You are more motivated when one or more of these elements are present and vice versa. If you have a bigger problem than getting physically fit, you may need to address that one first before making a futile attempt of going to the gym. Have the courage to be honest with yourself, and the resolution will naturally follow!

 

Read more:

Business on purpose: The soul-goal connection
Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us

Leave a comment